10 Steamy Books That Would Make Excellent Television Soap Operas



 




No. 9: PX Me (How I Became a Published Author, Got Micro-Famous, and Married a Millionaire) by Abbe Diaz
 
Not all soapy TV shows adapted from literature have to derive from fictional works. The writings of former "Maître d’ to the Stars" Abbe Diaz have done for the elite restaurant game what Candace Bushnell's Sex and the City did for Manolo Blahnik.

After Diaz published PX This, her inaugural diary of life working in New York City's poshest restaurants, she was almost run out of town for serving up delightfully dishy treats about many of her A-list clientele, including Gwyneth Paltrow! The follow-up PX Me series tells how Diaz became "micro-famous" following the first book's successful debut, leading to a fairy tale life married to someone who can afford to get her a seat at any table of her choosing.

PX Me would be the perfect cable dramedy, in the vein of SATC or Netflix's Orange is the New Black, itself based on a non-fiction memoir. Thirteen episodes a season of food and gossip? Sign me up!

Wishful Casting: America Ferrera as Abbe.

For more of Diaz's dishy diaries, click here!

  


Comments

Patchworks's picture
Member since:
27 November 2009
Last activity:
1 day 15 hours

Thanks, Jamey. Now I have a winter reading list. I would love to see some of these ideas make it to soap television because the regurgitated drivel we're given year after year is played out.

SoapArmageddon's picture
Member since:
22 January 2011
Last activity:
10 hours 21 min

I'm putting Frederick Smith on my Authors-to-Read list TODAY.

Member since:
23 February 2009
Last activity:
21 hours 53 min

Pride and Avarice is definitely my kind of book. Nicholas Coleridge will be on my list. Thanks Jamey. Ain't no way that KA can pull playing Lucky Santangelo

Member since:
24 January 2012
Last activity:
2 hours 13 min

I'd suggest (erstwhile daytime soap writer) Christian McLaughlin's "Sex Toys of the Gods." The title alone is worthy of a soap.. lol!

http://www.amazon.com/Sex-Toys-Gods-Christian-McLaughlin/dp/555-5555

Member since:
21 January 2013
Last activity:
5 hours 44 min

love your pairing of EJ Bonilla and Darryl Stephens

Member since:
21 January 2013
Last activity:
5 hours 44 min

love your pairing of EJ Bonilla and Darryl Stephens

gato1's picture
Member since:
29 October 2009
Last activity:
2 weeks 5 days

People Like Us is one of my all time faves!! everyone should check it out!! I would go with Marj Dusay as Lil tho!! Jamey--no E Lynn Harris?? I could see a whole series around Basil the bi sexual bad boy football player and that hell cat Braxton and her evil mother!!

bobbyew's picture
Member since:
19 October 2012
Last activity:
12 hours 58 min

Nicolette Sheridan the original Lucky Santangelo that's the casting. No one can bring it like she did and her daddy Vincent Irrazery and the old man she married Eric Braedan as Stanasloplous. That's the cast.

Member since:
21 June 2012
Last activity:
21 hours 32 min

I have a book out. And I always wanted to be a soap opera writer. Smile Shameless plug. How could I not!

An abused American teen is rescued by a staunch Japanese skating coach, groomed for future Olympic glory and an arranged marriage to the coach's daughter. All is going according to plan until the bride-to-be is injured and her partner goes to work on his artistry with a sexy male British ice dancer. Quadruple Flip--4 revolutions, 3 make a love triangle, 2 people he truly loves, 1 happy ending? (Or maybe a cliffhanger/sequel).

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/advanced_search_result.php?keywor...