Skip to main content

Daytime Emmys Announce Two New Categories

  • Author:
  • Updated:

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS) has announced the addition of two new categories for next year's 41st Annual  Daytime Emmy Awards.

The new categories are Entertainment News and Outstanding New Approaches Drama Series. The Entertainment News category covers such shows as Extra and Entertainment Tonight. The Outstanding New Approaches Drama Series will be for shows that produced less than 35 episodes during 2013, such as DeVanity, Venice or the upcoming Tainted Dreams.

Read the entire press release after the jump!

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

New York, NY – October 24th, 2013 – The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS) is proud to announce two new categories in the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards.

For the first time, there will be a category, “Entertainment News,” that honors programs which were not previously eligible to enter the Daytime Emmy® Awards. This category is for programs covering the entertainment industry with a focus on human interest, popular culture and celebrity gossip and interviews. Programs such as the syndicated “Entertainment Tonight” and “Extra” are two examples of “Entertainment News” programs.

The second new category, “Outstanding New Approaches Drama Series,” will be available for any Daytime Drama series which has less than 35 original episodes in the 2013 calendar year.  Examples of this type of program would be Crystal Chappell’s series “Venice,” and the soon to premiere, “Tainted Dreams – The Series.”  Daytime Drama programs which have produced at least 35 original episodes in the calendar year of 2013 are eligible to enter “Outstanding Drama Series,” the same category as the Network Daytime Dramas.  This will result in Prospect Park’s “One Life to Live” and “All My Children” competing against “The Young & The Restless,” (CBS) “The Bold & The Beautiful,” (CBS) “General Hospital” (ABC) and “Days of Our Lives” (NBC).  All of the actors and crafts people on these shows will also be eligible to compete in their appropriate program and craft related categories.

”I would like to thank the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, especially Bruce Rosenblum and the ATAS Board of Governors, for their part in this collaborate effort to establish the “Entertainment News” category in the Daytime Emmy® Awards,” said Malachy Wienges, Chairman, NATAS.

“I am very pleased to include these new categories in the Daytime Emmy® contest,” said David Michaels, Senior Executive Director, Daytime Emmy® Awards.  “I strongly believe that every broadcast entity should have a chance to compete for an Emmy® Award in a true peer to peer competition.”

Entertainment news programs may choose to enter the new Daytime Emmy® Awards category or enter the Primetime Emmy® Awards in the “Outstanding Informational Series or Special” category, competing with a variety of different kinds of shows.

Programs may enter in only one competition; those choosing to enter in the new “Entertainment News” category in Daytime Emmy® Awards would not be eligible to enter in the Primetime Emmy® Awards.